Ball at rest moved by another ball

There was a question asked at the weekend following the Men's competition. One player's ball had landed on another player's ball on the fairway and they both kicked off in different directions. What is the ruling?  The Rule is 18-5 “If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.” So we leave the second ball where it finishes, but the first ball is replaced in a position agreed by the 'witnesses'.There are lots of decisions in the 'Decisions on the Rules of Golf' where balls have been knocked onto the green, knocked off the green into bunkers, off fairways into water hazards … so it makes sense to replace it, if it was ‘seen to happen’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.